Portland State University

PDXScholar

Convocation 2016 Convocation

Sep 21st, 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM

2016 Convocation Program and Video

Portland State University

Follow this and additional works at: https://pdxscholar.library.pdx.edu/convocation

Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

Portland State University, "2016 Convocation Program and Video" (2016). *Convocation*. 1. https://pdxscholar.library.pdx.edu/convocation/2016/convocation/1

This Event is brought to you for free and open access. It has been accepted for inclusion in Convocation by an authorized administrator of PDXScholar. Please contact us if we can make this document more accessible: pdxscholar@pdx.edu.



Convocation

Wednesday, September 21, 2016 3:00-6:00 p.m. Ballroom, Smith Memorial Student Union, Room 355

Welcome

Brad Hansen, Presiding Officer, Faculty Senate, and Professor, Music, College of the Arts

Introduction of the Research Faculty Excellence Award Recipients—2016

Kevin Reynolds, Vice President, Finance and Administration

- Daniel Ballhorn, Assistant Professor, Biology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences recipient of the Junior Faculty Research Excellence Award
- Andrew Fountain, Professor, Geology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences—recipient of the Senior Faculty Research Excellence Award
- Meg Merrick, Professor Emeritus—recipient of the Research Faculty Excellence Award

Introduction of the Foundation Excellence Award Recipients—2016

Bill Boldt, President/CEO, PSU Foundation

- Natan Meir, Associate Professor of Judaic Studies & Program Chair, Judaic Studies, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences—recipient of the PSU Foundation Philanthropic Cultivation Award
- Robert Liebman, Professor, Sociology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences—recipient of the PSU Foundation Philanthropic Leadership Award

Acknowledgement of New Faculty and Staff and Faculty Who Have Received Promotion and Tenure Sona K. Andrews, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Introduction of the Excellence Award Recipients—2016

Sona K. Andrews, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

- Dundar Kocaoglu, Founding Chair and Professor, Engineering & Technology
 Management, Engineering & Computer Science, Maseeh College of Engineering and
 Computer Science—recipient of the George C. Hoffmann Award for Faculty Excellence
- Emily Ford, Assistant Professor and Urban & Public Affairs Librarian, University Library—recipient of the Kenneth W. and Elsie W. Butler Award for Library Faculty Service
- Becky Sanchez, Director, Undergraduate Programs Office, Business Administration, School of Business Administration—recipient of the Mary H. Cumpston Award for Service to Students

President's Presentation: Leadership through Partnerships Wim Wiewel, President

Campus reception in the Ballroom follows the program. Greet new and returning colleagues.