### **PSU McNair Scholars Online Journal**

Volume 11 Issue 1 Without Borders: Original Contributions in Undergraduate Research

Article 1

2017

## Front Matter Volume 11, 2017

Follow this and additional works at: https://pdxscholar.library.pdx.edu/mcnair Let us know how access to this document benefits you.

### **Recommended Citation**

(2017) "Front Matter Volume 11, 2017," *PSU McNair Scholars Online Journal*: Vol. 11: Iss. 1, Article 1. https://doi.org/10.15760/mcnair.2017.02

This open access Front Matter is distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0). All documents in PDXScholar should meet accessibility standards. If we can make this document more accessible to you, contact our team.

## Without Borders: Original Contributions in Undergraduate Research



2017 Ronald E. McNair Scholars Journal Portland State University

### **About the Program**

The Portland State University (PSU) Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program at Portland State University works with motivated and talented undergraduates who want to pursue PhDs. It introduces juniors and seniors who are first-generation and low income, and/or members of under-represented groups to academic research and to effective strategies for getting into and graduating from PhD programs.

The McNair Scholars Program has academic-year activities and a full-time summer research internship. Scholars take academic and skills-building seminars and workshops during the year, and each scholar works closely with a faculty mentor on original research in the summer. Scholars present their research findings at the McNair Summer Symposium and at other conferences, and are encouraged to publish their papers in the McNair Journal and other scholarly publications.

The Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program was established in 1986 by the U.S. Department of Education and named in honor of Challenger Space Shuttle astronaut Dr. Ronald E. McNair. The program, which has been on campus since 2003, is funded by a \$1,155,000 grant from the U.S. Department of Education and institutional costshare funds.

The McNair Scholars Program's student-centered approach relies heavily on faculty and university commitment. Activities and opportunities provided by the program focus on building a positive academic community for the scholars while they are undergraduates at PSU.

### About Ronald E. McNair

Ronald Erwin McNair was born October 21, 1950 in Lake City, South Carolina. While in junior high school, Dr. McNair was inspired to work hard and persevere in his studies by his family and by a teacher who recognized his scientific potential and believed in him. Dr. McNair graduated as valedictorian from Carver High School in 1967. In 1971, he graduated magna cum laude and received a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics from North Carolina A&T State University (Greensboro). Dr. McNair then enrolled in the prestigious Massachusetts Institute of Technology. In 1976, at the age of 26, he earned his Ph.D. in laser physics. His dissertation was titled, "Energy Absorption and Vibrational Heating in Molecules Following Intense Laser Excitation." Dr. McNair was presented an honorary doctorate of Laws from North Carolina A&T State University in 1978, an honorary doctorate of Science from Morris College in 1980, and an honorary doctorate of science from the University of South Carolina in 1984.

While working as a staff physicist with Hughes Research Laboratory, Dr. McNair soon became a recognized expert in laser physics. His many distinctions include being a Presidential Scholar (1971-74), a Ford Foundation Fellow (1971-74), a National Fellowship Fund Fellow (1974-75), and a NATO Fellow (1975). He was also a sixth degree black belt in karate and an accomplished saxophonist. Because of his many accomplishments, he was selected by NASA for the space shuttle program in 1978.

His first space shuttle mission launched successfully from Kennedy Space Center on February 3, 1984. Dr. Ronald E. McNair was the second African American to fly in space. Two years later he was selected to serve as mission specialist aboard the illfated U.S. Challenger space shuttle. He was killed instantly when the Challenger exploded one minute, thirteen seconds after it was launched. Dr. McNair was posthumously awarded the Congressional Space Medal of Honor. After his death in the Challenger Space Shuttle accident on January 28, 1986, members of Congress provided funding for the Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program. Their goal was to encourage low-income and first-generation college students, and students from historically underrepresented ethnic groups to expand their educational opportunities by enrolling in a Ph.D. program and ultimately pursue an academic career. This program is dedicated to the high standards of achievement inspired by Dr. McNair's life.

Source: mcnairscholars.com

### **Table of Contents**

List of 2017 PSU McNair Scholars

PSU McNair Scholars Program Staff

# Citizens United v The Federal Election Commission, Inverted Totalitarianism and Contemporary Fiction

By: Cory R. Chambers Faculty Mentor: Jennifer Ruth, Ph.D.

### **Chemical Modulation of Cancer Cells to Enhance Tumor Immunity**

By: Florisela Herrejon Chavez Faculty Mentor: Jason E. Podrabsky, Ph.D.

### **Toward a Critical Philosophy for Children**

By: James Funston Faculty Mentor: Alex Sager, Ph.D.

### Prevalence and Use of Guns in Perpetration of Intimate Partner Violence By:

Caroline Cummings Faculty Mentor: Eric Mankowski, PhD

### Sulfolobus Spindle-Shaped Virus 1 Growth Kinetics

By: Setarah Mohammad Nader Faculty Mentors: Kenneth Stedman, Ph.D.

#### List of 2016 PSU McNair Scholars & Mentors

Laura Aquon Sarah Akin Luz Alvarez Yesenia L. Carrillo Cory R. Chambers Tareva Davis Aramee Diethelm Kristie Edwards Carrie Fuentes James Funston Jessica Gaudette-Reed Brittany Hanson Florisela Herrejon Chavez Kerry Hooton Alyssa Kudray Zachary Martin Ashleigh Mustain Setarah Mohammad Nader Elmira Rodriguez Isabel J. Rodriguez Pablo Saldana Jaime A. Schwoch Kalera Stratton Marta Szabatin Michele Torland Christine Vigeant

Dr. Amanda Byron Dr. Priya Kapoor Dr. Jason Podrabsky Dr. Elena Aviles Dr. Jennifer Ruth Dr. Susan Masta Dr. Monica Mueller Dr. Miriam Abelson Dr. Alex Sager Dr. Jennifer Tappan Dr. Angela Coventry Dr. Jason Podrabsky Dr. Barry S. Oken Dr. John Hall Dr. Suzanne Estes Dr. Kenneth Stedman Dr. Alma Trinidad Dr. Mark Weislogel Dr. Lee Shaker Dr. Mitch Cruzan Dr. Deborah Lutterschmidt Dr. Eugene Foster Dr. Jamein Cunningham Dr. Charles Klein

### **PSU McNair Scholars Program Staff & Editorial Board**

Dr. Toeutu Faaleava, MPA, JD, PhD, Director, McNair Scholars Program Melissa Shaquid Pirie Cross, MS, Associate Director, McNair Scholars Program Malissa Fife, Teaching Fellow Christian Henkel, Teaching Fellow Stephanie Pozuelos, Teaching Fellow